Perspectives – They are all Different

The questions that p________ face as they raise ch________ from in_________ to adult are not easy to an _________. Both f______ and m________ can become concerned when health problems such as co_________ arise anytime after the e____ stage to later life. Experts recommend that young ch____ should have plenty of s________ and nutritious food for healthy growth. B___ and g____ should not share the same b______ or even be in the same r______. They may be afraid of the d_____.

How would you fill in the blanks?

Completing this task I was constantly worrying about what people would think of my answers. I have to admit I did copy and paste this into google, and I’m sure many other students did as well! It’s very interesting looking through other blogs and finding this ‘fill in the blanks’ activity. Not many were the same, and it was very obvious who had found the original text from the internet.

http://shafeenazsaeed.blogspot.com.au/2014/03/fill-in-blanks.html

https://alisiacameron.wordpress.com/2014/07/26/schema-filling-in-the-blanks/#more-10

These two bloggers had different answers, as did our class. It’s interesting to note how different peoples perspectives are on the paragraph depending on their area of teaching or what they have already read. Who knew there could be so many health problems that started with the letter C? Or that children shouldn’t share the same bottle, bed or bathtub… and they may be scared of the dark, a dog or the dentist. I guess this is what makes us all so different.

In the end I found the original paragraph and who knew it would be all about chickens?

chickens_chicks_baby Rear-view-of-chickens-in--007

The questions that poultrymen face as they raise chickens from incubators to adult are not easy to answer. Both farmers and merchants can become concerned when health problems such as coccidiosis arise anytime after the egg stage to later life. Experts recommend that young chicks should have plenty of sunshine and nutritious food for healthy growth. Bantees and geese should not share the same barnyard or even be in the same roost. They may be afraid of the dark.

– Ashleigh

You Learn Something New Every Day!

I guess you can tell by my title, today I have learned many new things!

Today I made a blog, something I never though I would do! Along with many other keen bloggers, we are all learning how to blog and how to piece together this new technology together.

First 2I was reading through a few new blogs and came across Emma’s, ‘If at first you don’t succeed…’ Becoming a teacher in the 21st century with all these new technologies, it’s so important not to give up, just keep trying until you get it. It’s also important to know how to use these technologies so you can teach students about them! I read this article http://www.betterhighschools.org/expert/ask_tech.asp which explains how Technologies are improving high school students success!

I guess today I leant that although making a blog, signing up to feedly and Diigo looked hard and a little confusing, if you just put on foot in front of the other you will eventually get to the end of the road. Now here I am writing my second blog for the day!

First 1Another blog which caught my eye was Jessica’s, I guess you can say don’t judge a book by its cover. First you start with this short excerpt of her post ‘A rollercoaster ride so far…’. But once you click into her page you are hit with this…

First 3MINIONS!! 6 of these cute little creatures greeting you at the top of the page. I suppose this is just slightly appealing as I LOVE Despicable Me! I am still working out how to make my blogs look more appealing, but bear with me, I will get there in the end!

Happy Blogging!

– Ashleigh ☺

Hello to the World of Blogs!

Hi? Hello? G’day? Bonjour?

I’m not entirely sure how you start a blog as I’ve never written anything like this before. I guess I’ll just jump straight into it?

I grew up in a small town, Karara, Qld – all this small town had was a pub, post office and a few houses. My family then moved to Texas, Qld which is on the boarder of Queensland and New South Wales, where we run a farm of sheep and cattle. I grew up there until I started boarding school and 4 years later graduated and started university.

I have not always wanted to be a teacher, however after experiencing many different types of schools, I decided teaching was for me! During year 12 I attended a few university open days and I finally decided to go ahead with high school teaching. Ever since I started 2 years ago, I have loved every minute – particularly the practical experience gained in schools throughout my degree. This year I start my third year of teaching and I am so looking forward to it.

I guess I don’t know how to end these posts either! But here goes,

Goodbye? Until next time?

– Ashleigh ☺